Visit Emporio Village
The lively inland village of Emporio sits at the foot of Profitis Ilias Mountain, overlooked by the restored, 15th-century Venetian Castle and the ruined Tower of Nimborio.
In the past, the man worked in the village with the lantern, which started in the night to wake the fishermen, going from house to house.
The Tower of Gulas
Characteristic of the village is the Gula Tower (Turkish kule: “tower”), a square tower in the northern part of the village, built during the period of Venetian rule, probably around the 15th century. Tradition wants the tower to have been built by the monks of the Monastery of St. John the Theologian of Patmos and that the treasures of the monastery were kept there. In fact, its use as a metochi by the monks of this monastery was well after its erection, and sources indicate that it belonged to the Dargenta family before the monastery . Inside the tower there was a chapel, which no longer exists, of Hosios Christodoulou, who was the founder of the Monastery of Patmos. From the tower there was a tunnel, leading to the castle.
Emporio one of the castles of the island. The characteristic of the castles was that the houses were built in series, glued to each other, in a perimeter, with windows and entrances from the inner side of the settlement. This protected the residents from hostile raids. There was usually a single entrance to each castle. The entrance to the castle of Emporio is still present and the locals call it the Door.
In all castles of Santorini, just outside the entrance or just a short distance away, there was a church of Aghia Theodosia
At the entrance of the village from Fira, there is the chapel of Saint Nicholas of Marmaris. This chapel is actually an ancient burial monument of the 3rd century BC, which in modern times was converted into a Christian church dedicated to Saint Nicholas. The saint took the nickname Marmaritis from the gray marble marbles with which the monument is built.
In the traditional settlement there are many picturesque churches, one of which is the church of Old Panagia or Panagia Messani, probably built in the 16th century, which has one of the most beautiful belfry on the island. Its wood-carved iconostasis is from 1883.
Another important church is the Transfiguration of the Savior or Christ, which was built in the early 19th century and has an impressive pebble courtyard.
The hill of Gavrilos
Opposite the Gula Tower there is the Gavrilo hill, or older Platanios mountain, with eight traditional 19th-century windmills and Byzantine ruins. The windmills have been declared historic and preserved buildings and six of them have been granted to the Municipality of Thira today. According to a study compiled on behalf of the municipality, the two are expected to work as regular windmills in the future, one as a windmill museum and mill tools, one as a traditional coffee shop and the other as traditional product shops.
At the top of the hill of Gavrilos there is a chapel of Prophet Elias or Prophet Elias the lower, in contrast to the monastery of Prophet Elias which is high.
Jean-Paul Sartre and Simon de Beauvoir's comrade had visited the Commercial in the summer of 1937, and it is said that the scene of his play The Flies is said to have inspired it..
Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.